Council_Amalgamations_Campaign_David_Website SliderThe Baird government continues to fudge the numbers on council amalgamations, with reported claims that more than 20 Sydney councils are volunteering to amalgamate.

The fact is that these figures just don’t add up, and that the overwhelming majority of Sydney councils have submitted a first preference to stand alone and remain genuinely local.

75% of Sydney’s councils have listened to their residents and are not buying in to the government’s forced amalgamation agenda.  Of the 31 councils opposed to forced mergers, 19 have refused to nominate a preference if forced to merge and 12 have reluctantly indicated potential merger partners if compelled.

Greens MP and Local Government Spokesperson David Shoebridge said:

“Baird and Toole’s deeply undemocratic plans continue to be frustrated by local councils who are listening to their communities and standing firm against amalgamations.

“Despite the government’s own inflated figures, the fact is that more than 75% of Sydney’s councils have submitted a first preference to stand alone.

“Most councils after consulting with their communities have found that their residents don’t support having their democratic say diluted by a merger and there is no economic justification for a merger.

“What we see across the state is a wholesale rejection of the government’s bullying agenda and a determination to stand up for local democracy.

“The Greens will continue to support locals who, in the face of the Premier’s bullying, decide to stand alone as viable, community-supported and responsible councils.“ Mr Shoebridge said.

Sydney councils who’s first preference is to standalone:

Municipality of Ashfield, City of Bankstown, City of Blacktown, Blue Mountains City Council, City of Botany Bay, Burwood Council, Camden Council, City of Campbelltown, City of Fairfield, Hawkesbury City Council, City of Holroyd, Municipality of Hunter’s Hill, City of Hurstville, City of Kogarah, Ku-ring-gai Council, Municipality of Lane Cove, Municipality of Leichhardt, City of Liverpool, Manly Council, Marrickville Council, Municipality of Mosman, North Sydney Council, City of Penrith, Pittwater Council, City of Ryde, Municipality of Strathfield, Sutherland Shire, City of Sydney,  City of Willoughby, Wollondilly Shire Council, Municipality of Woollahra.